Navigation and service

Good Practice Award

In cooperation with Member States and the Council presidencies of the European Union, the European Agency for Safety and Health at Work (EU-OSHA) organises the Healthy Workplaces Good Practice Awards in tandem with its Healthy Workplaces Campaigns.

The awards are an important component of each campaign, and help to demonstrate the benefits of good safety and health in the workplace, serving as a platform for sharing information about and promoting good practice across Europe.

Organisation and Procedure

The Healthy Workplaces Good Practice Award occurs in two steps: Initially a jury nominated by the national focal points evaluates the entries. The jury appoints the two best national contributions that will be sent to EU-OSHA. Ideally, an organisation with less than 100 employees and one by a larger organisation make one of those entries. The entries that were received by the national FOP will then be transmitted to the Agency in Bilbao. Secondly, a European jury assesses the contributions and selects a winner on European level. At the award ceremony, the winners are honoured and appreciated. Details of all awarded and commended examples will appear in a publication that will be widely distributed across Europe and promoted on the EU-OSHA website.

Submission of good practice examples

All concrete examples of effective implementations in the field of occupational safety and health in the context of the current campaign topic are entitled to contribute to the competition. It should be clearly described in the contributions, how well the measures were implemented and what could be achieved within the course of the implementation.

The tripartite jury will be looking for evidence of:

  • a holistic approach to safety and health at work;
  • real and demonstrable improvements in safety and health in relation to dangerous substances;
  • the prioritisation of collective measures over interventions focusing on the individual;
  • effective participation and the involvement of workers and their representatives;
  • the sustainability of the intervention over time;
  • the transferability to other workplaces (in other member states, in different sectors and of different sizes);
  • timeliness (the intervention should be either recent or not widely publicised).

In addition, the intervention should meet, and ideally exceed, the relevant current legislative requirements of the Member State in which it has been implemented.

Products, tools and services developed for commercial purposes will not be considered in the competition.

Examples of Good Practice contributions that have been awarded in previous years can be found on the EU-OSHA website. A pdf file of the GPA-booklet 2018/2019 can be found below.

Participation in the Good Practice Award

Good practice entries can be submitted to the competition by all organisations active in EU Member States, candidate countries and potential candidate countries, as well as members of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), including:

  • individual enterprises or organisations of all sizes;
  • training providers and members of the education community;
  • employers' organisations, trade associations, trade unions and non-governmental organisations;
  • regional or local OSH prevention services, insurance services and other intermediary organisations;
  • official campaign partners.

Healthy Workplaces Good Practice Awards

The specific aim of the 2020-22 Healthy Workplaces Good Practice Awards is to highlight leading examples of organisations that actively prevent and manage MSDs in the workplace. EU-OSHA is looking for examples that demonstrate a holistic approach to occupational safety and health (OSH) management, with both employers and employees committed to working together to prevent MSDs. The jury will also be looking for interventions that are both sustainable and transferable.

Any real-life examples of innovative and effective OSH management approaches for MSD prevention can be entered. Entries should clearly describe how good management practices have been implemented in the workplace and what has been achieved, including aspects such as:

  • how risk assessment was organised in a comprehensive and effective way, covering all relevant risks for all groups of workers;
  • the way in which the hierarchy of prevention was followed;
  • how MSD-related risks were eliminated by design solutions ('ergonomic design'); examples of workplace design, the design of work equipment, processes, etc., are particularly encouraged;
  • the ways in which awareness was increased and a prevention culture encouraged;
  • how supportive measures, such as workplace adaptations/improvements, were implemented to ensure that a worker already suffering from an MSD could continue working or was able to return to work. The MSD could be work-related or non-work-related.

If you would like to participate in the award, please send the completed application form (in German) to the Focal Point (see below for contact). For more information on the conditions of participation, please see the flyer (in German) for the GPA.
Application form (in German) (PDF, 235 KB)
Flyer (in German) (PDF, 2 MB)

Deadline for submissions: 15 October 2021

Matthias Holtmann and Nathalie Henke
+49 231 9071-2016

Federal Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
Friedrich-Henkel-Weg 1-25
D-44149 Dortmund

Further information as well as examples of the entries awarded in previous years can be found here:

Cookies help us to provide our services. By using our website you agree that we can use cookies. Read more about our Privacy Policy and visit the following link: Privacy Policy